Surprise, Surprise

1 Peter 4:12
Dear friends, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal that has come on you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you.

It’s rare to find novels that take place in the foreign countries that we work in.  I search for stories that take place in Guatemala but they are hard to find.  I recently found a book and it had great reviews so I bought it.  What the reviews didn’t mention is that if it were a movie it would be rated “R” if not an “X”.  It started out good but soon I found myself blushing and then questioning if I should go on at all.  I’m just glad that I proofed it before giving it to my son to read (the first chapter looked like it might interest him).  I probably wouldn’t have bought it at all if it had the proper warning label on it.Sometimes we get surprised in life.  Situations can take us off guard – maybe they are better than expected, maybe they are worse.  It would be nice if everything had a rating so we could know in advance what to expect.

Are you surprised with your mission?  Is it what you expected?  Should it have had a higher rating?

My prayer today is that you weather the surprises and press forward.  No matter what you come up against God will see you through it. 

Leave a Reply

