Where is our treasure?

Foot Locker halts events after riot over Nike sneaker

From staff and wire reports

Updated 1m ago

Foot Locker on Friday suspended shoe sales and special events planned for the release of Nike’s debut NBA All-Star sneaker at various stores in Florida and at least three other states after a riot broke out among hundreds of people at an Orlando mall.  Other consumers vying to buy the shoe were arrested in Maryland and Louisiana.

The Foamposite One Galaxy sneaker with a constellation-like print and glow-in-the-dark sole was scheduled to go on sale for the first time in stores at midnight Thursday at a retail price of $220.00. One thing that may have led to the increased demand for the shoe is that Nike decided not to sell it online.

Seriously???  I don’t know what’s worse – a riot over shoes or paying $220 for them!

It brings to mind the scripture Matthew 6:21   For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

These are challenging days for all of us.  A friend of mine said this week that we are all being challenged in a new way to prepare us for the next wave of God.  Personally, I hope that God is moving because it has been a really hard couple months for me!

This week I treasured my Godly friends who prayed and stood with me in accountability and listened to me repent. 

I treasured my wife for holding me and praying with me.  I don’t care what the world says about love becoming boring after 30 years – I say it gets way better!

Last but certainly not least – I treasured my relationship with God, my father, my savior, my companion, and my rescuer through every trial I walk through.

I also treasured God’s sense of humor as he blew the very strong smell of liquid manure over me as I was praying about the “sh*ty” situation that I was in!!!!

Leave a Reply

