Bendy Straws

I was at a restaurant with my sons the other day.  Our drinks came and I smiled because I got a “bendy straw”.  I didn’t say anything because I was too embarrassed.  But then my sons said “Hey! Bendy straws!  I love bendy straws!”  Oh, how the small things in life can give us pleasure!  I am infatuated with hawks that now live along our highways and I thank God every time I see one.  I love sunsets, a cool breeze, and the sound of waves at the ocean.  Many of these small joys in life I learned as a child.

My biggest joy is being able to curl up in my Father’s lap and feel His love when it seems like the whole world is against me.  I learned this as a child too.  Who can harm us when we sit in His lap?

I pray that all of you get to experience small and large joys today.  I hope that you are able to remember joys from your childhoods and smile as you go about your “adult” duties.  Most of all I pray that you will take the time to curl up in our Father’s lap and just cuddle.

Luke 10:21
At that time Jesus, full of joy through the Holy Spirit, said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children. Yes, Father, for this is what you were pleased to do.

straws

Leave a Reply

