This page intentionally left blank

This page intentionally left blank

For those of you that read legal or financial documents, you will be familiar with this line.  I’ve always thought that it was silly.  Why take the effort to write that a page is intentionally left blank?  Is there a lawyer getting paid by the page?

Always curious, I Googled it.  Hmmm, here is the answer:  “in which the reader might otherwise suspect that the blank pages are due to a printing error and where missing pages might have serious consequences”.

The point is that the author intentionally left the page blank and he/she wants the reader to know it.  The author doesn’t want any question over whether it is a mistake or that a page is missing.

Jesus spoke clearly and directly to everyone he encountered.  He also made his silence clear when it was necessary.  What scares you more, Jesus talking to you or Jesus standing there staring at you not saying a word?  His silence frightens me.  It makes me look at myself and realize how foolish I am, how powerless I am, and how small I am compared to HIM.  Wouldn’t you have liked to have been one of those with a rock in your hand threatening to stone the adulterous woman only to face Jesus sitting on the ground drawing in the dirt?  Pilot had one of those encounters too.  Very scary.

Jesus is leaving another page intentionally blank – our record.  Aren’t you glad that we have been cleaned by his sacrifice and that we can rejoice with HIM?

John 19:9 and Pilate went back inside the palace. “Where do you come from?” he asked Jesus, but Jesus gave him no answer. 10 “Do you refuse to speak to me?” Pilate said. “Don’t you realize I have power either to free you or to crucify you?” 11 Jesus answered, “You would have no power over me if it were not given to you from above. Therefore the one who handed me over to you is guilty of a greater sin.”

Blessings to you as you live in His Kingdom!

Brian

Leave a Reply

