Stumble and Fall

Stumble and Fall

This is the second time this year that I published on failure.  You’re seeing the true dark clouds that hang over me.  My reply is: Have you ever met a happy prophet?  I sometimes wish that I was called to be an evangelist.  Evangelists always seem to be eternally happy, positive, and have a lot of energy.  They’re also very likable (unlike prophets).  A friend of mine once said in a sermon, “no one invites prophets over for dinner.  They don’t even want to sit in the same row with them in church”.  As I looked both ways, my row happened to be empty.  Personally, I’ve always liked pastors the most but we will save that for another day.

What inspired me to write this today was a random search on Google.  I had no reason to search the word “failure”.  I was merely bored and was curious as to what would come up.  The top listing was Wikipidea.  The 3rd one was a dictionary definition.  Not surprising.

The 2nd listing was “George W. Bush/The White House”.  Now stop and think about that.  Whether you liked W. or not how can you equate 8 years as the president of the United States to failure? (Please don’t send me any hate mail).  I’m not going to try to evaluate this.  I only posted it for the fact that no matter where we end up in life, we can feel and/or be evaluated as a failure.

When I struggle, I usually look to King David.  What a man after God’s heart.  It’s easy for us to say because we read about him long after he lived.  I’m sure that those who served with him had their doubts at times.

Regardless of his mistakes, David stayed true to his heart for God and the calling that God placed on him.  You too have a heart for God or you would not be serving in your capacity.  You also have a calling.  Seek out God as you walk through it.  It is not a question of IF we will stumble and fall.  It’s a question of will we allow God to pick us up.

Blessings to each of you today.

Psalms 30:1  I will exalt you, Lord,
for you lifted me out of the depths
and did not let my enemies gloat over me.
Lord my God, I called to you for help,
and you healed me.
You, Lord, brought me up from the realm of the dead;
you spared me from going down to the pit.

Sing the praises of the Lord, you his faithful people;
praise his holy name.

Leave a Reply

