Don’t Judge a Book by the Cover, part 1

We’ve all heard that statement.  This was obviously written before the internet and Amazon were created.  I love my Kindle – it goes everywhere with me.  I have the Bible, several dictionaries (including Spanish), a fiction library, how to library, Bible study, etc. 

I receive several emails a day with free books to download.   I’m guessing I look through about 25 offers a day.  I scan them quickly – who can review 25 books a day?  I judge them by the authors, description; and yes the covers.  I immediately delete books that have romantic themes, lightly dressed women, cowboys, haunted figures, bloody knives, and space creatures to name a few.  Am I being unfair?  Maybe.  But I don’t like romance novels so why look any further than the cover?

Some are hard to pick out.  Even after reading the description and the reviews it is very possible to get a bad book.  I may like the subject but the writing may be poor.  Because of the mass publication of e-books and the internet everyone is a writer – but they may not be a good writer.  We are living in a busy society and we need to make very quick decisions on numerous issues.

How are we at judging each other?  I have to admit that I am forced to judge often by the “cover”.  I look at hairstyles, clothing, personal hygiene, tattoos, makeup, on and on.  Sometimes I’m right and often times I’m not.  Who hasn’t judged a biker that turns out to be a loving servant of the Lord?  A poorly dressed person who is very wealthy? 

Thankfully God doesn’t judge us by our covers.  I wonder how many great books I pass by because of the covers . . .

 I Samuel 16:7 But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at theheart.”

Leave a Reply

