The Fatherless

I frequently admit that I struggle with feelings of failure and depression.  This past season of my life has not been easy.  Has it been easy for anyone?  In my mind I bounce around between “It’s a Wonderful Life” and “Christmas Vacation”.  If you don’t know me, you won’t get that.

All that aside, I have stepped into a beautiful time of life.  I have always loved being a Dad and now I get to be a “Poppy” as well.  It’s great and I love it although I could tell you some really funny (or sad) stories about raising a 17 year old son!  There’s not enough room here for those stories.

Back to the point . . . besides being a Dad in the natural, I am also stepping into being a spiritual dad.  Amazing.  They don’t list this as a job on any career postings but wow is it the best job on the planet.  I don’t know what the qualifications are but somehow I have gotten here.  I just read a letter from a neighbor girl who is in the hospital and who is dealing with a lot of pain.  She writes “honestly, you’re the closest thing that I have to a dad”.  What a boost to a day!

I learned from a really good Dad but more importantly we ALL learn from a really great DAD.  Our Father pours His love on us every day.  We don’t need to solve the world’s problems but we all have enough love poured into us to help someone.  I’m not going to list a hundred “acts of kindness” or tips on how to care for a neighbor.  Listen to your Father and reach out a hand to someone near you.  Find someone that you can pick up and hold.  Share a tear or a cup of coffee while you listen.

 Blessings to each of you today as you walk out His love.

 Isaiah 1:17  Learn to do right; seek justice. Defend the oppressed. Take up the cause of the fatherless; plead the case of the widow.

2 thoughts on “The Fatherless

  1. Good day! I simply would like to offer you a huge thumbs up for the excellent info you’ve got here on this post. I’ll be returning to your website for more soon.

Leave a Reply

