Feet – Repeat

Last year when I wrote this I had know idea of what lay ahead.  I still stand behind it.  The truth that it is the little things that matter.  A cool drink on a hot day.  Letting a driver pull out.  Love, care and tie someone’s shoe strings.

Feet

We don’t like to see them.  We certainly don’t want to smell them.  They get dirty.  They ache.  They start out so cute on babies and turn into gnarled calloused abused body parts by the time we are old.  But we wouldn’t want to live without them.  They’re pretty important for getting around.  When they hurt, our whole bodies hurt.  It’s really hard to get out of bed when we know they hurt.  Anyone (including me) who has suffered from gout REALLY understands this.  They are essential body parts that we need to take care of.

Our son Isaiah has been helping to coach a children’s soccer team this spring.  When I asked him in the beginning of the season how it was going he replied “I spend most of my time tying shoe strings”.   Now that he is several weeks into the season he talks about how much he enjoys the kids.  He knows their names.  He knows which ones are good and which ones don’t listen.  He said he will miss them when the season is over.  And to think these relationships started with “tying shoe strings”.

I’m sorry to be redundant but we need to be constantly reminded that “it’s the little things that matter”.  We don’t need to change the world but we DO need to tie shoe strings. Smile. Say hello.  Help someone across the street.  Love. Care. Say a prayer for someone at work.  

Love a lot this week.

 Luke 7:44 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. 47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.”

Leave a Reply

