One day closer to dying

I woke up today realizing that I am one day closer to dying.  I’m not trying to rush it.  I’m not hoping it is today.  It is just a fact that there is a point when I will die and everyday I get closer to it.

Our generation worries about death and aging.  We worry about our diet, our health, safety, and how we can prolong this great life.  Truth is, we are living longer than any other generation.  And yet we do everything we can to extend it further.

We sit and talk about what we eat, how we exercise, how we feel, what supplements we take.  Other people groups think about when their next meal will be.  We worry about the balance of our foods – protein, vegetables, fruit and those dreaded carbs.  Imagine, there are people who live on a steady diet of rice and beans their whole life.  To them, meat is a special treat that they may get once or twice a month.  To us, it is something to cut out because it is killing us in one way or another.

I’m not putting down diets.  I wish I was better at self control.  Once again today I am  fighting my addiction to sugar sodas.  I need to lose weight and get my sugar level down.

This isn’t an argument about western diets verses other diets.  Its not about affluence and poverty.  It’s not about living with less.  It’s about living with more – realizing that we are spiritual beings in physical bodies.  These physical bodies will age and die.  Some of us go quickly.  Some will go slowly.

No matter what we eat today, we are one day closer to dying.  Hopefully, we are one day closer to living eternally.  That’s what really matters.  I won’t have a sugar addiction in heaven.  Let’s hope that whatever you “eat” today brings you closer to life.

James 4:13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.

Leave a Reply

