Everyone knows your name

Billy Joel wrote it like this “Only the good die young”

Many have said “Why would I want to go to heaven, all my friends will be in hell”

Last but not least – Larry Norman said “church is middle class”

Who’s fault is it that church is so stuffy?  I know that church is supportive and is family(I have many to be thankful for).  But Christians are stuffy.  They’re cheap and reserved.  Don’t get mad.  Go to a bar and see the difference between that environment and church.

The bar people are friendly and open.  They talk to strangers.  They share their stories.  They will buy you a drink or give you a smoke even though they don’t know you.  The bartender listens to everyone, knows the regular’s names and laughs at the stupid jokes. They tip and they spend money. People go there to be with people.  Yes they drink but they could drink at home for a lot cheaper.  They want to socialize.

Church people are tight.  If you go out to lunch with them they will count out the bill to the penny.  They order water instead of soda to save $2.  They don’t welcome strangers to their table or buy food for the people next to them.  They don’t hang out and waste time talking – they have work to do.  And they are cheap tippers (I love when they leave a tract instead of a tip – that always goes over well).

Ok, so I’m generalizing but tell me why a show named “Cheers” was popular for so long.  “You want to go where everyone knows your name.”  Church people aren’t bad and I don’t encourage people to go to bars and drink.  But bars can be fun.  I don’t admire people who spend all their money on booze and cigarettes but I wish I was freer to spend and relax and have a good time.  I’m jealous when I see people sit at a bar and spend some money to socialize and have a good time.

I have recently ran into an older single woman from our town in the same restaurant bar more than once.  I asked her “do you drink here everyday?”  She laughed and said “no” (I didn’t believe her).  Do you know what she said next?  “This is my church.  These people are my family.  I don’t want to be alone.  I hate going home to an empty house.”  She is never alone when she is there.  People are always talking to her and she has a good time.

Why can’t church be more like that?

Matthew 9:10-12

10 While Jesus was having dinner at Matthew’s house, many tax collectors and sinners came and ate with him and his disciples. 11 When the Pharisees saw this, they asked his disciples, “Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?”

12 On hearing this, Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick.       (I wonder if he really wanted to say, they’re more fun!)

bar pic

Leave a Reply

