I wish we’d all been ready

When I was a teenager in the 70’s, the BIG talk in church was the 2nd coming.  Songs were written, books were written, movies made – Larry Norman’s song “I wish we’d all been ready” was a big hit.  We all thought the 2nd coming would happen any day.   Personally, I didn’t think I would graduate from High School, get married or have children before we were taken away.

My mom finally sat me down and told me “We went through this when I was your age.  I was born in 1930 during the great depression.  There were food lines and people struggled.  We had just had WWI and now WWll started.  Hitler was killing the Jews.  Israel became a nation.  It all fit.”  Going back in time, end times theology is a main thrust at least once in almost every generation.

Currently our little world is facing numerous problems.  Spiritually we are facing many debates.  I hear that the Bible is a bunch of fictional stories.  I hear that every faith leads to heaven.  I hear there is no hell.  I hear that we all know God through our conscience.  I hear that religion is the cause of the world’s problems.  I hear that God loves everyone and grace covers everything.  I hear that we are falling more into sin and deception every day.  Is your head spinning?  Mine is.

It’s ok.  You really only need to know one thing – God loves you.

James 1:2-4 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

rapture

Leave a Reply

