Abandoned, part 2

part 2, the orphanage

My first night in the orphanage was long.  The room was made up of concrete bunkbeds with thin mattresses.  I shared my room with 9 other boys who all seemed to know each other well.  There were other rooms with boys of other ages and one large bathroom.  A room mother named Josephine got me settled with my clothes and where I would sleep.  The other boys tried to talk to me but I just wanted to be alone.  I still didn’t know why I was here or what happened to my family.

In the morning we woke at 6 a.m. and everyone had chores to do.  Josephine showed me around and told me that I would help her with cleaning.  At 8:00 a.m. a bell rang and everyone ran for breakfast which was eggs, frijoles and tortillas.  Everyone ate so fast and some boys stayed to help cleanup when we were done.

School started at 9 in the dining room.  From this point on I realized we were living a set schedule every day.  Get up at 6, clean and do chores until 8, eat from 8 until 8:30, school at 9, lunch at 1, school again at 2, free time at 3, dinner at 5, homework until 7, showers and bed by 8.  The next day it started all over.  Everyone else understood the schedule and tried to help me to get with it.

No one talked about their families.  Everyone understood that they were either abandoned, too poor to stay with their family, abused, rescued or just lost in the system.  I was lonely, sad, angry and confused.  I didn’t know why I was here or when I would leave.  Where was my mom and why didn’t she come to get me?

This is part 2 of Abandoned, a fictional story of international adoption.

008

Leave a Reply

