Abandonment, part 4

Part 4

Months went by at the orphanage but I learned that it really wasn’t an orphanage – it was a boy’s home.  In Guatemala, there are children’s homes where the children aren’t eligible for adoption and there are orphanages where some or all of the children are eligible (or are in the process).  When I was rescued from the streets, I was placed in an all boys children home.

I began to meet with a social worker which was followed by court appointments.  I didn’t know what any of it meant.  They asked me a lot of questions.  Some things I made up and some stories were true.  Some stories were blended together with stories from other boys.  Because of my age and confusion over the whole system I soon came to a point where I didn’t know what was truth and what was a lie.  All the boys had stories.  Which ones were true was up to anyone’s guess.

My meetings with the court were boring.  I often missed entire days of school while going out to these meetings.  No one told me what was going on.  Finally, the older boys told me – I was going through the process of abandonment so that I could be adopted.

Abandonment?  What did that mean?  I had a mother, a brother, and 2 sisters.  That much I knew and I wasn’t making it up.  If only I could talk to them.  This couldn’t be right.  Why would they abandon me forever?  I could understand a few months while we worked something out.  I could understand a couple of years until I could earn money.

What did all of this mean?

008

Leave a Reply

