Purpose

I was a philosophy major in college.  And yes, it did lead to a great job.  My favorite area of study was existentialism – studying the purpose of life.

I have been reading again the struggles during WWll and the torture of the Jews.  I just finished the book “Anne Frank Remembered” on audio.  This is EXCELLENT.  If you have any interest in the subject listen or read this book.  The audio is very well done and is available at the library.

I’m going to jump to the last day of imprisonment of the Jews – the day the war was over.  Some Jews died on that day.  Some died on the days leading up to it.  Anne and her sister almost made it but died about a month before the end.  Can you imagine?  Living through all of that and dying on the last day when they could be free in 24 hours?  I can’t wrap my mind around that.

Victor Frankl experienced that as well.  Men were led off on the final day only to be shot.

What is our purpose here?  Why do we exist?  If the Jews could give testimony during imprisonment shouldn’t we be able to give testimony in what we do?

In 1940, before the war, a teacher in Iowa thought it would be a good idea for her students to write letters to students in Europe.  A girl wrote letters and waited patiently for letters to be returned.  She received letters from two sisters in Amsterdam.  The letters told of their lives and family.  The authors of the letters were Anne and Margaret Frank before they went into hiding.  That teacher had no idea what that little exercise would produce.

Exodus 9:16

But I have raised you up for this very purpose, that I might show you my power and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.

 

Leave a Reply

