Intercession

I have spent the last week trying to encourage a friend that is suffering in many ways but specifically she is currently suffering over the death of our son Isaiah.  I feel like I am losing the battle.  I don’t know what else to say or do.  I certainly hope and pray that she makes it through this deep and dark valley.

Time after time, we read in the Bible about people going through deep valleys.  I don’t know what I would have said to David when he was hiding from Saul or his own son.  What would you say to Daniel before he was thrown into the lion’s den?  Would you have encouraged Noah when he was building the ark?  How about Joseph when he was in the pit, or in jail?  If I was Jesus’ mentor, I would have told him to kill everyone more than once.

It’s at these moments that we turn to God for intercession.  We cry out for His grace, mercy and wisdom. 

Romans 8:26

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.
 
**If you are interested in my friend’s most recent blog, it is http://acceptthebullshit.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/trees-and-tears/   This is not for children or for a casual read.  If you do choose to read it, please spend some time interceding as well.  Thanks, Brian
2 thoughts on “Intercession

  1. I keep thinking about Isaiah and you all and just can’t get off my mind. I worry about you, guys, Christina and myself. I just well up with tears thinking of all of this, this is too much.

Leave a Reply

