Tragedy

Where does tragedy come from?  Why do we suffer?  Is it caused by sin?  Is it Karma?

We all suffer at times.  I was talking to a friend today that I haven’t seen in years.  At our age, catching up sounds like a story out of General Hospital.  He had surgery, I had surgery.  He had cancer, I had a heart attack.  His sister committed suicide, my son committed suicide.  If it had not been so sad I would have said that we were trying to trump each other on disasters in our lives.

God has never offered us a “slide on ice” card.  We’re not promised easy street when we sign up.  I also don’t believe that God purposely harms us either.  We live in a world full of sin.  We have separated ourselves from our creator.  We live by grace and forgiveness and hope through our savior.  I sometimes wish it was a “free ride” but we know that no problem is greater than our God.

1 Kings 17:19-21

New International Version (NIV)

19 “Give me your son,” Elijah replied. He took him from her arms, carried him to the upper room where he was staying, and laid him on his bed. 20 Then he cried out to the Lord, “Lord my God, have you brought tragedy even on this widow I am staying with, by causing her son to die?” 21 Then he stretched himself out on the boy three times and cried out to the Lord, “Lord my God, let this boy’s life return to him!”

Leave a Reply

