Preacher’s Kids #4

1 Samuel 2:18 But Samuel was ministering before the Lord—a boy wearing a linen ephod. 19 Each year his mother made him a little robe and took it to him when she went up with her husband to offer the annual sacrifice. 20 Eli would bless Elkanah and his wife, saying, “May the Lord give you children by this woman to take the place of the one she prayed for and gave to[c]the Lord.” Then they would go home. 21 And the Lord was gracious to Hannah; she gave birth to three sons and two daughters. Meanwhile, the boy Samuel grew up in the presence of the Lord.

One of the greatest impacts to me growing up a preacher’s kid was that I literally grew up in the church.  The church building was often my playground and I spent countless hours playing and just hanging out there while my dad worked.  I’m not saying that playing in a church building makes one spiritual but for me it made it a place that I wanted to be in.  I was comfortable there.  I liked being in the sanctuary when it was totally empty and quiet.   It was so peaceful and I often felt the presence of God there.

On Sunday’s we were the first ones there and the last ones to leave.  I’m no longer the first one there but I am often the last to leave.  My complaint now is that we live 25 minutes away from our church building.  I miss being able to just go in and hang out.

We don’t need to be in a church building to grow up in the presence of the Lord but as parents we need to offer opportunities to our children to be in His presence.

church

Leave a Reply

