We see what we want to see

A friend of mine is a master deer hunter with a bow.   He often kills 20 to 30 deer a season all on little patches of trees in densely populated areas.  (The licenses are to thin the deer because they are a nuisance.  He eats what he kills). Whenever I travel with him (whether he is driving or not) he sees deer.  Even when it is nearly dark out, he sees deer!  We will be traveling down the highway and he says “3 deer”.  I look but rarely see them.    The last time we were together I said “How do you do that, I never see them!”

He replied, “it’s like you and hawks.  You always see hawks and I never do.  You have an eye for hawks and I have an eye for deer.”

He’s right.  I love hawks.  I see them everywhere.  I’m always telling my family, “there’s a hawk” and they rarely see them.  One one 45 minute drive I saw more than 11 hawks.   I’ve prayed to see them.  I now have one living in my back yard and yesterday he/she came and landed on my picnic table, under a roof, 5 feet from my door!

We see what we want to see.  Glass half empty/half full.  We see the positive or the negative.  We see God’s kingdom or we see a dying planet.  What do you see?  What do you want to see?  Do you want to look up and see God’s plan or do you want to look down and stumble?  It’s your choice.

Exodus 19:3-5

New International Version (NIV)

3 Then Moses went up to God, and the Lord called to him from the mountain and said, “This is what you are to say to the descendants of Jacob and what you are to tell the people of Israel: 4 ‘You yourselves have seen what I did to Egypt, and how I carried you on eagles’ wings and brought you to myself. 5 Now if you obey me fully and keep my covenant, then out of all nations you will be my treasured possession. Although the whole earth is mine,

In this picture, do you see a dead rail line or living trees?

tree

Leave a Reply

