I am the weakest

I’m not sharing this to receive pity so don’t look at it that way.  I want to relate and understand God’s strength because we are all weak in some area of our life.

I dreaded gym class in school.  I was the weak kid.  The one who was last to be picked, or 2nd, 3rd, or 4th to the last depending on who was in the class that showed less physical skill than me.  I guess I ranked in front of a few.  I was skinny, wore glasses and didn’t have any defined physical ability.  In my day, there was no “mercy” or “political correctness” in giving everyone a boost.  If you couldn’t run, hit or throw you were pretty much abandoned.  Teachers didn’t “protect” the weak kids and neither did the jocks.   I grew up with a scorn to jocks.  I hated sports and I was determined some day to get even with the “dumb” jocks as I called them.

When you grow up weak, you learn early on that life is not fair and that it can be very cruel.  We all search for what we are good at.  For some it is sports.  For some it is music or art.  You get the point.  What we didn’t know in those early years is that even when we excel at an area, life can still be hard, unfair and cruel.  Jocks get hurt.  Young talented musicians level off and don’t continue to excel as adults.  Artists who shine in school find that they aren’t that great in the real world.

Weakness.  It can be a nightmare.  It can bear fear, dismay, anger, depression and lack of motivation.  Who wants to take on a challenge when we know we are weak?  Being picked last in gym class only makes one weaker because we realize that we don’t stand a chance.

So what hope do we have?  We stand on God’s promises.  We stand on His calling.  None of us are the last to be chosen when it comes to God.  We are all 1st calls when He looks at us.  He empowers us.  He enables us.  He prepares us.  He.  It is HE, not me.

Stop looking at ME and look at HE.  What is HE calling you to?  What is HE gifting you for?  Don’t be worried about being called last.  Focus on being called FIRST.

Judges 6:14-16

New International Version (NIV)

14 The Lord turned to Gideon and said, “Go in the strength you have and save Israel out of Midian’s hand. Am I not sending you?”

15 “Pardon me, my lord,” Gideon replied, “but how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my family.”

16 The Lord answered, “I will be with you, and you will strike down all the Midianites, leaving none alive.”

1 Samuel 16:10-12

New International Version (NIV)

10 Jesse had seven of his sons pass before Samuel, but Samuel said to him, “The Lord has not chosen these.” 11 So he asked Jesse, “Are these all the sons you have?”

“There is still the youngest,” Jesse answered. “He is tending the sheep.”

Samuel said, “Send for him; we will not sit down until he arrives.”

12 So he sent for him and had him brought in. He was glowing with health and had a fine appearance and handsome features.

Then the Lord said, “Rise and anoint him; this is the one.”

Leave a Reply

