Excess

A man went into a restaurant and took a seat a a table for twelve.  The restaurant was only half full at the time but it would soon be hitting the busy dinner rush.  The other customers gave him funny looks as he took his seat, opened up a lap top and set up his phone and his e-reader.   A waitress came and introduced herself and asked if others would be joining him.

He replied “No, I will be dining by myself.”

Waitress “Would you be more comfortable at a booth or smaller table?”

“No.  I prefer to have a lot of room when I eat.  I don’t like others crowding me in.”

A manager then stopped by and replied, “Sir, we are going to get very busy for dinner.  I have a party of twelve that would like to sit together and this is our only twelve top table.  Could I bother you to please move to a smaller table?”

“No”, said the man. “I came early to get this table because I like a lot of room and I don’t want to be bothered in moving.”

“I’m sorry but you cannot take up a big table for yourself and keep other patrons from coming in.”

“Sorry, that’s not my problem”.

Excess?

Rude?

Selfish?

Arrogant?

Revelation 18:3

For all the nations have drunk the maddening wine of her adulteries. The kings of the earth committed adultery with her, and the merchants of the earth grew rich from her excessive luxuries.”
Leave a Reply

