Go from your country

I had a great weekend with missionary friends that are home on furlough.   We attended the global fair with Eastern Mennonite Missions and also their commissioning service on Sunday.  Overall – a win win across the board.

Some thoughts and reflections: As a child, my memories of missionaries are of “old” people coming to our church showing slides of Africa.  The men wore funny “missionary” shirts and they brought hand crafted trinkets from other countries.  I still have some of those trinkets in my house today.  Men are still wearing those “missionary” shirts and the women still wear long colorful dresses in native patterns.  I like them more now as an adult than when I was a child.

Missions is a tough gig.  You need to go to another country and leave your family and friends.  Your children are confused because they don’t know what nationality they are.  Not only do you do hard work but you need to raise your own support at the same time.  If one of your supporters or churches doesn’t like what they see, they can cut you off without notice.  Like I said, tough gig.

Many of the missionaries going out have a number of small children.  The more children they have, the more money they need to raise.  Flying gets very expensive with 4 children.

Why don’t they stay home?  hmmm  Good question.   I recommend that you travel to their country and ask them.  You might figure it out on your own.

One missionary commented on my many blogs.  I said “you don’t read many, I see when your country shows on the reader.”  He told me that they hide their reads for security reasons and just to be funny they were going to pick obscure counties to show up in the reads!  If Botswana shows up today, I’m going to assume it is this missionary.  So far I only have the USA and India.

May the work of your hands be blessed today!

Genesis 12:1-3

The Call of Abram

12 The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.

“I will make you into a great nation,
    and I will bless you;
I will make your name great,
    and you will be a blessing.[a]
I will bless those who bless you,
    and whoever curses you I will curse;
and all peoples on earth
    will be blessed through you.”[b]

africa

Leave a Reply

