Journey

When I was 20, I drove across the country alone trying to find where God wanted me to be.  I was driving a 1973 Gremlin without a/c and it only had an am radio.  For those of you lucky enough not to ever drive a Gremlin, it was basically a Jeep with an ugly car body over it!  On part of the journey I drove from Utah to Los Angeles.  At around 10:00 p.m. I stopped on the edge of LA to call my friend who I was staying with.  I was overjoyed to finally make it!  His response, however, was not exuberant like mine.  He commented, “you have about 2 more hours to get to where I am.”  I said, “how can that be, I’m IN LOS ANGELES!”  Being from Lancaster PA, I had no idea how BIG LA was!  Of course, he was right.  I had about 2 more hours to drive on my very sore rear end.

That’s how life is sometimes.  We don’t know where the journey will lead.  We don’t know how long it will be and we don’t know what we will encounter along the way.  Sometimes the journey is full of joy and sometimes it is broken down in the rain along side of the road.  Sometimes our rear ends are so sore we feel like we can’t go another mile.   I drove about 7,000 miles on that trek.  I wore off all 4 tires.  I had great visions along the way, saw many friends and relatives, saw beautiful country and ate really good Mexican food for the first time!  I met wonderful people and stayed at Mennonite Your Way homes.  I visited little churches and large churches and waved to people along the road that I never saw again.

I thought I was going to move to sunny California.  Instead I returned to a dreary November Pennsylvania.  I returned to a career that I didn’t think I wanted and a life that I didn’t think I wanted in a city that I didn’t think I wanted.  There have been broken down moments along the way.  Tires have been worn off.  The hair on my head has been worn off!  My rear end now hurts some days from being kicked so often.  But there has been joy and friends and relatives and wonderful people.  There have been little churches and big churches and some really good Mexican food.  I have waved to a lot of people I don’t know.

Enjoy the journey.  You never know where it will lead you.

John 4:5-7New International Version (NIV)

So he came to a town in Samaria called Sychar, near the plot of ground Jacob had given to his son Joseph. Jacob’s well was there, and Jesus, tired as he was from the journey, sat down by the well. It was about noon.

When a Samaritan woman came to draw water, Jesus said to her, “Will you give me a drink?”

108

2 thoughts on “Journey

Leave a Reply

