Another Teen Suicide

When I started this blog, it was intended to be an uplifting devotional/spiritual thought page.  It turns out that the most read pages are sadly about teen suicide.

I was doing pretty good so far heading into our 2nd anniversary of Isaiah taking his life.  Today I heard one of his friends ended her life.  Another shockwave through our school.  Another gasp through our little town.  All the questions.  A million “why’s” with no answers.   There will be cries of “this has got to stop” and “we need to do something”.   Another family that is devastated and friends that will never forget.  So much pain.  So much sadness.  A permanent solution to a temporary problem.  Why?  I wish I had an answer.

The picture below is from the “safe room” after Isaiah died.  Juliet Benson’s name is signed on it.  I found it on her Facebook page.  I guess tomorrow there will be a “safe room” for her.  I wish there was a “safe room” for these kids before they took their lives. . . .  I didn’t know Juliet but I’m crying like I did.  The pain transfers from one suicide to another.  Hug your kids tonight.  They need it.

safe room

 

7 thoughts on “Another Teen Suicide

  1. She was so beautiful and kind hearted. I have known her most of my life and after finding this out it just tore me apart. On July 1 of this year i attempted suicide and succeeded. On july 2 i had over 200 siezures and went into cardiac arrest with a slim chance of surviving. after 29 minutes they found a pulse. It kills me inside knowing god sent me back but took Juliet. This is very hard for me and many others to deal with. I’m good friends with her sister Maddy and my heart goes out to her and the rest of Juliet’s family. Suicide is never the answer and as much as i wish i could of stopped this from happening or helped prevent it, I cant change what has already been done. We love you Juliet. Fly high babygirl<3

  2. Our family, too, has been touched by Juliet’s passing although I never heard of her until last Tuesday. My son was one of her online friends and he’s been very upset since Maddy texted him with the news. I read on a ‘GoFundMe’ page for Juliet’s family that she was a victim of cyber bullying–is this accurate? In the wake of this tragedy, I’m going to be meeting with our local high school administrators urging them to create a suicide prevention/awareness program/assembly/presentation! The school already does presentations on drunk driving, drugs, bullying and cyber bullying, and I think kids desperately need resources to help them if they or someone they know has suicidal thoughts. Stay strong, Shelly. Brighter days are ahead! Thanks in advance to anyone who can shed light on the veracity of the cyberbullying.

  3. I can’t stand to see this stuff and every time I try to write this I cry my eyes out before I finish. I attempted suicide last year right before Juliet. I often wonder why God took her but not me and people actually tell me it’s cause God knows my son needs me. I often wish to die but I can’t get myself to do it. I don’t know how to handle this. I miss you Isaiah and Juliet. I love you both!

    1. Kelci, please don’t delay seeking help from your nearest hospital emergency room, police or fire department, clergy, school advisor/teacher/mentor, doctor, mental health professional, friend(s), family members, or any of the kind folks manning the phones 24/7 at suicide prevention hotlines like the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1 (800) 273-8255 or even 911. Help is available and better days are ahead even though you can’t see that now. Believe in the power of yourself and never, ever give up. There is always, always, always hope for a life full of love, light and peace. You are stronger than you think you are.

Leave a Reply

