Joy and Happiness

Can we be happy without being joyful?  Can we be joyful and yet miserable?  If given a choice, would you rather be happy or joyful?

They aren’t the same thing – happiness and joy.  Happiness is temporary – an emotion that passes through for a moment.  I’m happy when I eat cake.  I’m not happy when I get the sugar low after eating it or when I gain weight from it.  I’m happy when the Phillies get a hit and I’m unhappy when they lose the game.  Happiness is like other emotions – anger, sadness and fear.

Joy.  Joy is in our soul.  It is both a foundation and a fountain that runs through our veins.  We can grieve and yet know joy is there.  Joy from our Father goes far beyond the temporary situations that we face – it gives us hope, faith and strength to weather the storms that we face.

The Bible references happiness about 30 times.  It references joy over 300 times.

Enjoy happiness when it comes.

Cling to joy in every moment whether you feel like it or not.  Our joy is rooted in our faith in God.  It is everlasting.

If you’re not happy – I’m sorry.  I hope your situation changes.

If you’re not rejoicing – seek the Lord and don’t stop until you wrap your arms around Him.

James 1:Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,[a] whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.

One thought on “Joy and Happiness

Leave a Reply

