Scars

I was recently watching the movie “Jaws” and was amused when the three men were showing their scars and bragging about their adventures.  I have many scars and I can remember when most of them happened.  There is a round spot on my hand where I scraped it putting in a furnace 25 years ago;  a spot on the palm of my hand where a class mate shoved a pencil into my hand in 8th grade;  a scrape on my knee when I wiped out on my mini bike at at 10; and a lump on arm where I received a vaccination when I was a young child.

Most of us don’t want scars (especially women).  It seems like they don’t fade away as I get older but then again all the ones I just mentioned are from a long time ago.  Does our body keep scars so that we remember our wounds?    I don’t know.  But they do serve their purpose when a group gets together and wants to tell stories.

Scars are not just physical.  Some are mental.  I remember feeling abandoned as a child (parents didn’t face arrest in the 60’s for leaving their children alone in the car).  I remember being hurt by friends.  I remember being fired from a job.

Here’s the thing – physical scars normally don’t hurt.  They are visible but they rarely hurt.  Mental scars are often not visible but they often hurt.  I have sat with friends that reflect on wounds and quickly come to tears even though the scar is 30, 40 or 50 years old.  Time doesn’t always matter – the scars still hurt.  Some throb every moment of every day.

What are your scars?  Have they faded or do they still show bright and red?  Have they helped you to remember what you did or bring up bitterness for what was done to you?  Are you allowing them to heal or do you keep ripping them open?  Can you forgive and allow them to heal?

Galatians 6:17 Living Bible (TLB)

17 From now on please don’t argue with me about these things, for I carry on my body the scars of the whippings and wounds from Jesus’ enemies that mark me as his slave.

jaws

One thought on “Scars

Leave a Reply

