What’s the worst thing that can happen?

One of my catch phrases in business and life is “what’s the worst thing that can happen?”  I am dealt many hard scenarios to battle through in business.  When I have a challenge to work through, I give myself perspective by looking at the worst outcome possible and then building from there.

Here is a really simple example:  Today I was driving on a busy highway and I was in the wrong lane to exit off.  The worst case option would be to hit someone and cause an accident.  The next option would be to stay in the lane and get off at the next exit and circle back.  This isn’t a great option but it is far better than the 1st one.  Again, it’s all about perspective.

What are you facing today that has you down and worried?  What is the absolute worst (WORST) thing that can happen?  Ok, now take a deep breath.  That worst thing probably won’t happen . . .so start moving up the list.  What will happen probably won’t be the end of the world and it will resolve in some way.

Have faith.  Have hope.  Have patience.  Know that God will be glorified and that a little bit of light will shine down on you while you walk through it.

Psalm 41All my enemies whisper together against me;
    they imagine the worst for me, saying,
“A vile disease has afflicted him;
    he will never get up from the place where he lies.”

Isaiah 51:6 Lift up your eyes to the heavens,
    look at the earth beneath;
the heavens will vanish like smoke,
    the earth will wear out like a garment
    and its inhabitants die like flies.
But my salvation will last forever,
    my righteousness will never fail.

world fell apart

Leave a Reply

