Be Transformed

A guest speaker approached a pulpit to speak.  No one in the congregation had ever met him. He was slightly overweight – not obese, but definitely could have lost a few pounds.

He started off saying, “Good Morning, how do I look?”  There was nervous laughter.  He said, “You’re probably thinking that I need to lose 50 pounds and I then I would look great.  C’mon, be honest.  Except none of you know what I looked like before.  You only see me standing here as I am today.  You don’t know if I gained 50 pounds this year or lost 50 pounds.  You are only judging me on what you see NOW.  So what do you think, am I gaining or losing?  You can’t tell can you?”

He let that sink in for a minute.  “The truth is – is that I WAS 300 pounds overweight.  I finally took hold of my life and through diet and exercise I have lost 250 pounds over the past several years.”  The crowd roared with cheers and clapping.

When you see someone on the street, you don’t know if they are coming or going.  Are they improving or are they falling?  Is their life better or worse than a year ago?  No one stays stagnant for long.  Are they becoming a sinner or are they transforming into Jesus’ likeness?

A couple walks into the church – not married but living together raising a child from another man who does not know the child.  Have they just come to the Lord or are they falling from a Godly upbringing?  Are they trying to build a new foundation or are they still living on a crumbling one?

Are you gaining or losing?  Improving or failing? Falling into sin or being transformed?

2 Corinthians 3:17-18  (NIV)

17 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 18 And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory,are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

hannahpraise

One thought on “Be Transformed

Leave a Reply

