A Heart for God

I wrote this four years ago.  I forgot about this experience until reading it again.  I hope you enjoy it again too.

Last night I was traveling home from Houston to Philly on a late night Southwest flight. I pulled a pretty high number for seating and I was afraid that I was going to get a middle seat in the back of the plane. It turns out that I sat in the first row (with extra leg room YAY) at the window next to a woman with her daughter. Our conversation somehow evolved into world religions and without being mean, this lady had less than a first grade education on the subject. After finding out that I was raised Mennonite, she wanted to continue talking about “Messonites”. I tried to correct her but she continued on her discussion of Messonites and what that means. She didn’t seem to grasp the whole concept and I didn’t want to get into a heated discussion.

You might think that I wasn’t impressed by this person but I was. She was traveling with a 20 year old daughter in a wheel chair. The daughter is paralyzed from the waist down from a car accident at the age of 16. They were traveling to Philadelphia to be a part of a medical study on exoskeletons. She went on to describe the procedure and showed me video clips of a prior fitting. Very interesting stuff. So interesting that I went home and Googled it at 3 a.m. to learn more about it. This mother and daughter are very close – it was obvious. They were affectionate and caring and clearly have a close relationship.

For what this mother lacks in knowledge of world religion, she definitely has a big heart for her daughter. That’s what I came to appreciate about her. That’s what God wants to appreciate about us. We don’t need to be a seminary scholar – we just need to have a heart for HIM. I’m sure He will celebrate Thanksgiving if we can do that. It’s not by outer appearance or by great things that we do but whether we love God with our whole hearts.

(Acts 13:22 NIV) After removing Saul, he made David their king. He testified concerning him: ‘I have found David son of Jesse a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want him to do.’

tree

Leave a Reply

