Are you living or just green?

On a previous blog I wrote about over fertilizing plants in my office.  Yes, I have learned that too much of a good thing can kill.  I sit and watch these plants daily knowing that they are destined to die.  I could just throw them out but . . . they are still green and they look alive.  I know they are dying but as Monte Python said it best, “I’m not dead yet”.

When do we decide if a plant is dead?  When it is brown and shriveled or when it is still green but lifeless?  Green and lifeless is not coming back.  Why do I keep encouraging it?

My first round of plants finally died from my fertilizer mishap.  Now I’m on round two.  I dumped all that over fertilized soil into a bag with other soil, mixed it around and then reused it on new plants that I bought.  Guess what.  Those new plants didn’t like it either and they are drooping and dropping all around me.  They too are still green but I really don’t think they are going to make it.

Don’t we learn?  I know that I can be slow but “I’m not dead yet”.  Stop pouring water and tending to lifeless activity.  Even Jesus cursed the fruitless olive tree.  If it is not bearing fruit or giving life, let it go.  Give your effort to something that is ready to grow.

Mark 11:12 The next morning as they left Bethany, he felt hungry. 13 A little way off he noticed a fig tree in full leaf, so he went over to see if he could find any figs on it. But no, there were only leaves, for it was too early in the season for fruit.

14 Then Jesus said to the tree, “You shall never bear fruit again!” And the disciples heard him say it.

plant.jpg

Leave a Reply

