Hippies

I was ten years old in 1970.  I grew up a hippie wannabe but I missed the whole thing by a few years.  I missed the Beatles.  I missed driving a van to San Francisco.  I missed Woodstock.  I related to all of this but I was clearly too young to participate.  I would have been a great hippie but by the time I was old enough it was over.

My parents, on the other hand, were forty in 1970.  They still looked and acted like they were living in the 1950’s.  They were much closer in age to this movement than I was – they were only ten years older than John Lennon and yet I know they never bought one Beatles album.  They never drove a van and they never hung out in San Francisco doing drugs.  Free love was not a topic in our home.

Why does change affect one generation and not another?  Why did I want to be a hippie but my parents scoffed at the idea?  By the time the 1980’s came  that generation looked down on hippies too.  What works for one generation doesn’t always fit another.

By the mid 1970’s, people were judged by the length of their hair and the clothes they wore.  Bible colleges enforced rules that men’s hair could not touch their shirt collar.  Jeans were outlawed but Corduroy was ok.   Skirts had to be a certain length.  Rock music was deemed “of the devil”.

Did the conventional church miss out on this generation?  Did they close the doors to the entire crowd of hippies and the music that went with it?  Was the Church more concerned with appearance than character?

Did this generation miss the Gospel or did they strike out in a new way of following God?  The Jesus movement began.  Jesus music.  Festivals.  Bible studies.  Bikers for Jesus.

What generation are you in?  Are you looking for a new movement or are you stuck in the previous one?  Are you open to change and challenges or do you want to close the doors to anything new?  Are you ten years older than the new move or are you twenty years behind trying to catch up?

Luke 5:37 And no one pours new wine into old wineskins. Otherwise, the new wine will burst the skins; the wine will run out and the wineskins will be ruined. 38 No, new wine must be poured into new wineskins. 39 And no one after drinking old wine wants the new, for they say, ‘The old is better.’”

change

Leave a Reply

