Angry with God

There have been many times in my life that I was angry with God.  It’s not really smart getting into a fight with God . . .it is always a losing battle.

Sometimes we are angry at something He did or didn’t do.  Other times we are just angry at life (or ourselves) and we take it out on Him.   The longest stretch that I remember being mad at God was three months.  I don’t remember what it was about but I remember not talking to Him.  I’m sure He was really disappointed. . . maybe He was glad to not hear me complain for awhile!

I always end up apologizing later when I get over my tantrum.   God has big shoulders.  I imagine Him being happier that I am close enough to Him to get angry then not having any relationship at all.  How many of His children just don’t care and ignore Him?

Here is my suggestion: Tell God that you are angry.  Tell Him that you know it is not His fault but that you are angry anyway and apologize ahead of time.  He may send you to your room for a quiet time to calm down.  Maybe He will suggest a nap.  Maybe He will give you a snickers bar like in the commercial.  Walk it out.  Don’t walk away.  God used Jonah in his anger.  He can use you too.

Jonah 4:But God said to Jonah, “Is it right for you to be angry about the plant?”

“It is,” he said. “And I’m so angry I wish I were dead.”

073

 

Leave a Reply

