Depression

As Christians we are supposed to be full of joy, hope, faith and peace.  We are conquerors.  We have domain over evil and the enemy’s attacks.  We have salvation.  We have been delivered.

Yeah right.

Oh, I believe all that.  I really do.  I just don’t always feel it.  We all have bad days.  But I’m talking about true believers that struggle daily to just get out of bed.  I’m talking about believers who live on the edge of suicide and can’t eat or sleep.  I’m talking about believers who are racked with pain and can’t see the light of day.

If a believer breaks a leg, we understand that there is pain.  We don’t expect them to jump up and down singing Hallelujah!  I just broke my leg!  If they have just suffered a great loss we understand that too.  What if they don’t suffer from a broken leg but instead have a missing connection in the brain that is misfiring?  How long are we willing to put up with a sad sack Christian that is always down?  Do we yell at them and say “Where is your joy?  Where is your hope in Christ?  You are a new creature that should be basking in glory!”

What if they need medication?  What if it is not a personality trait but a real medical imbalance?  On the other hand, what if that person sitting next to you on Sunday isn’t smiling because of Jesus but because they found really good drugs?  Does that change your faith level in Jesus?

I don’t understand the brain.  I don’t know why some heathens seem happy all the time and some believers are miserable.  I don’t even understand why some people can have a cavity filled without novocaine.  I would rather be hit over the head and knocked unconscious then have a tooth filled while I sit there!

I have hope that I will find joy.  I have peace that I am saved.  I have faith that I do walk with God.  I also take anti depressants and I probably should take more on most days.  I don’t get it.  I probably never will.  I’ll say a prayer but don’t take my pills away.

Psalm 143:7-8

Answer me quickly, Lord; my spirit fails. Do not hide your face from me or I will be like those who go down to the pit. Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life.
tree

 

Leave a Reply

