Going Dormant

This was sent from a friend today.  I hope you enjoy it.

I bought the orchid, 2 photos attached, about a year ago at a local department store. I do not have a green thumb at all. But, it was on sale for $7 and figured for that price how could I not give it a try. It had about 4 blossums on each of the 2 stems. But, after a while the leaves started to turn yellow and did not look happy. Did it need more water? It could not possibly be lacking in humid air. At the time the humidity was 65% but today it is 25%. I read up on the internet that orchids turn yellow if they get too much sunlight. I had originally placed it on a bureau next to the sliding glass doors and it got direct sunlight in the morning and indirect light from noon on. Apparently it was too much and I moved it to the opposite side of the room where it received NO direct light at all and it almost immediately started to look better. It seemed perfectly happy for about 4 months. I did not fuss with a fancy pot, I kept it in the same plastic container that I bought it. The instructions were to dip the orchid in a bucket of water for 20 minutes once a week to get the bark chips damp. Then placed it in a mug to let the water drain out. I think this might help because the water collected in the mug, and the tight fit, keeps the roots moist. BUT, THE KEY IS THE WATER. The recommendations say to not use hard tap water and I collected condensation water from our air conditioner.

Then about July the buds started to fall off one by one. I was distraught. In about 2 weeks they all fell off and all I had was 2 spindly stems and green leaves. I checked on the internet and found nothing. I gave up on the plant as dying and ignored it for 3 months with no watering. Then in October I noticed tiny stems appeared on the still green bare stems. Then, buds and in January blossums. It now has more blossums than when I purchased it. It must simply have gone dormant and is now very happy.

Matthew 6:27-29

27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.

Lessons?

We don’t need to be a “professional” Christian.

We don’t need a fancy pot.

We do need the right kind of water, the right amount of water and the right amount of light.  Son and Sun.

Sometimes we just need to go dormant and sit in a corner and veg.

There is no need to worry.  Just enjoy life while we can.

orchid1

 

Leave a Reply

