Pardon Me

Pardon me, kissing you like I’m afraid
But I know I’m being played with
And you’ll leave me when you get the chance.

Off you’ll go, in the darkness of the night
Like a bird in freedom’s flight,
You’re thinking only of deliverance.

Close your eyes, and pretend that you are me.
See how empty it can be
Making love if love’s not really there.

Watch me go, watch me walk away alone,
As your clothing comes undone,
And you pull the ribbon from your hair.

This song by Larry Norman has always been one of the eeriest songs I know.  I always wondered why he wrote it, who he was talking to, if it was literal or spiritual.  I have to admit it bothered me with it’s down beat, instruments and lonely tune.  I still don’t know who he wrote it to or why.

One day it hit me in the face what it means to me (not saying this is what Larry meant for it).  For the first time it held spiritual meaning and I wept as I listened to it over and over again.

God has poured His love on us and yet we turn on Him.  We pretend to love Him but love’s not really there.  We only pretend  hoping for deliverance.  We bow down on Sundays hoping that that is enough.  But how soon do we walk away?  How soon do we cheat?  How soon do we walk away in the darkness of the night?  Are we thinking only of deliverance?  Are we only thinking about what we can get?

Ezekiel 16:14 And your fame spread among the nations on account of your beauty, because the splendor I had given you made your beauty perfect, declares the Sovereign Lord.

15 “‘But you trusted in your beauty and used your fame to become a prostitute. You lavished your favors on anyone who passed by and your beauty became his. 16 You took some of your garments to make gaudy high places, where you carried on your prostitution.

 

Leave a Reply

