Pain in the ass (literally)

I grew up watching commercials of people fidgeting in pain and itching.  The ads were for some product called “Preparation H”.  As a kid, I had no idea what they were talking about.  The commercials really didn’t say anything to let a kid know  – and why should they?  Kids aren’t their target audience.

Ten years ago, I found out what they were talking about.  Only I didn’t start at the “Preparation H” level – I went right to a severe case requiring immediate surgery.  There is nothing polite about this surgery and it is embarrassing to talk about.  If you break an arm, it’s “Hey! I broke my arm.  I need prayer and meals!”  Hemorrhoid surgery – no one is calling the church to say “I have a major pain in the ass and I need prayer and meals!”  I kept it quiet and didn’t tell anyone I needed prayer.  Pride comes before the fall.

Surgery was on a Thursday.  I felt great Friday morning thinking I was healed of the pain.  At 12:05 my pain meds wore off and I began months (years) of misery and pain.  This area of the universe does not get fresh air and sun and is probably the worst place on our bodies to heal from surgery.  The healing is never 100% better.

Why am I sharing this?  I was too embarrassed at the time to ask for prayer.  I did not feel the prayer support of my fellow believers and I did not feel any angels holding me up.  I tried to go this alone.  Never again.  Whatever situation you are facing – no matter how embarrassed or ashamed you are, don’t walk through it alone.  The enemy doesn’t want you praying.  He will throw any excuse at you to make you think that “no one” else is going through this or that people will laugh.  Don’t believe it.  Reach out for prayer.  Don’t let pride or fears get in the way of believers lifting you up.

2 Chronicles 6:28-30

28 “When famine or plague comes to the land, or blight or mildew, locusts or grasshoppers, or when enemies besiege them in any of their cities, whatever disaster or disease may come, 29 and when a prayer or plea is made by anyone among your people Israel—being aware of their afflictions and pains, and spreading out their hands toward this temple— 30 then hear from heaven, your dwelling place. Forgive, and deal with everyone according to all they do, since you know their hearts (for you alone know the human heart),

hannahpraise

Leave a Reply

