Ordinary People

I have been writing a new blog on suicide but I am hesitant to share it because it takes my inner publicity farther than its ever been.  There are two reactions that a reader may have when seeing a writing on depression and suicide.  Surprising those reactions are not very different than ANY subject.

We generally like to read and learn about what touches us.  We may not have any interest in the subject of LGBT until someone close to us comes out with their revelation.  It may be difficult seeing people suffer with cancer but once it hits close we devour anything we can to find a way to beat it.

D&S – if you don’t battle depression you may begin feeling that way just by reading how some people feel.  Don’t self criticize yourself – it means that you are probably one of the lucky ones who doesn’t fight it.

On the other hand, if you feel the need to read about others who are depressed or any article bringing light to it – guess what – you may be in that company whether you know it or not.  In 1980 a movie came out called “Ordinary People” that dealt with teen suicide, death and family dysfunction.   I watched it over and over again.  I felt every minute of the pain that EVERYONE in the family was going through.  I was dating Laurie at the time and she hated it.  To her it was totally depressing and she couldn’t understand how I could watch it.  The movie didn’t make me happy – I just understood what everyone was going through and I FELT it.

You may not know how to relate to someone fighting these demons.  You can’t relate to everyone’s challenges – Personally I don’t understand people who fear heights or traveling outside our country.  Those fears are irrational to me and I don’t relate well.

I’m not ready to share more of my journey yet.  Soon, maybe, but not yet.  Just know that the person next to you is battling something.  It may be D&S or it could be OCD behavior.  Don’t bust on them with the flippant “just get over it” or “why do you feel like that”.  We are ordinary people and we are trying to survive.  If you don’t understand what this blog was about, move on to the next subject.  You’re one of the lucky ones.

Psalm 90:13-14

13 Relent, Lord! How long will it be?
    Have compassion on your servants.
14 Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love,
    that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days.

108

 

2 thoughts on “Ordinary People

Leave a Reply

