Space

I was sitting at a diner counter eating breakfast.  A man sat at the far end of the counter and all the other stools were empty.  I was comfortably positioned with room on either side.  My cell phone was out and my Kindle was propped up.  And then it happened . . . a lady came and sat down on the stool right next to me!  With all the other empty stools, she sat right next to me!  She invaded my space!  She spread out a newspaper to read and fidgeted around cleaning her silverware and making little noises.  I wanted to say “do you mind moving over?  Your’re in my  space!”.  I also thought about moving but I was all set up.  The whole experience made me eat faster and quickly leave.

Space is a funny thing – if the counter is full and I need to sit between two strangers I don’t mind.  But if someone comes and sits too close when there is room, it is uncomfortable.

Elevators are the same way.  Seats on a bus or plane.  There are appropriate and inappropriate space rules.

How close are you to God?  It may seem like a funny question because we are supposed to be as close to God as we can get.  But are we trying to get so close that we bother Him?   Are we trying to be so much like Him that we think we are on the same level?  Are we pressing so close that we cannot bow down before Him?

Come close to God and rejoice in His presence but don’t forget to bow and remember who you are approaching.

Exodus 3:5 “Do not come any closer,” God said. “Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy ground.”

cross

Leave a Reply

