Why I’m growing more cynical

When I was a child we had “fall out” shelters that were supposed to keep us safe from nuclear devastation.

When I was a child the politicians told us that communism was like a domino effect that was going to take over the whole planet.

When I was a child the government started a lot of expensive programs to stop poverty.  We have more now.

When I was a teenager we were running out of oil.

When I was a teenager the biggest environmental problem was polution – you know trash.

When I was a teenager we road in cars without seat belts and airbags and our parents left us unattended in unlocked cars.  We never wore helmets when riding a bike.  Now all of those things are illegal.  Why didn’t anyone tell us we were in danger?

When I was a teenager mortgage rates were in the high teens.  They would never come down.

When I was in my twenties we were losing our Ozone level and we were all going to burn up.

When I was in my twenties everyone got rid of fall out shelters.  I guess they didn’t work?

When I was in my twenties the earth was cooling out of control and we were all going to freeze.

When I was in my twenties butter was bad – really bad for you.  Whole milk was poison.

When I was in my twenties we were running out of oil.

When I was in my thirties we were running out of oil.

When I was in my forties the world was warming and we were all going to die.

When I was in my fifties butter was ok.  Whole milk was actually better than skim.  Almond milk was better.

When I was in my fifties we had too much oil and the prices dropped.

When I was in my fifties the climate changed but I don’t know if it got colder or warmer but we were still going to die from it.

When I was in my fifties college got ridiculously expensive and the government said it should be free and that if everyone went to college we would be better off.

When I was in my fifties we elected an African American President and everyone said race relationships would improve.

When I was in my fifties we were told to elect a woman President so that women issues would improve.

When I was in my fifties I was told that I need to support every crazy dumb ass liberal sexual idea so that everyone was treated fair and had equal rights and so that I wouldn’t be full of hate and that I would love everyone and that the Bible was no longer valid and that I  couldn’t say anything negative about anyone or anything or I would be hateful and that I needed to believe everything the government and scientists told me or else I would be an ignorant Bible thumping hillbilly that had no sense and that I just needed to believe because it was experts who were sharing this.

In my fifties I dug out a fallout shelter to hide from these people.

fallout

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

