Satisfied

I was once again feeling sorry for myself and the position that I’m in financially.  I pulled out the change in my pocket and threw the coins into my coin jar.  I didn’t bother to count the coins – they were just coins and I threw them in a jar.  I don’t know how much money is in the jar – it’s just a bunch of coins.

At that moment, God hit me on the head and said, “Do you realize that you have more money in that jar than most people in the world have to their name?  You throw your coins in there like they mean nothing to you (because they don’t) and yet that is more savings than most people have.  There is probably $300 plus in there.  That is more than many families live on in a year”.

I looked down in disgrace.  He was right.  That is A LOT OF MONEY to some people.  To me it is almost a nuisance.  Coins are heavy.  Coins aren’t worth much.  No one wants pennies.

I am not poor.  I am blessed.  I have never gone hungry.  I have never had a leaky roof.  I have never been without heat (or air conditioning for that matter).  I have always had clean clothes and shoes.  I have a car and a truck.  I don’t need to walk to the store.  I have clean running water.  I have hot water.  I have electricity that is on almost 100% of the time.

The list goes on and on.  There are 40 verses on “being satisfied”.  Here is just one:

Deuteronomy 8:10  (NIV)

10 When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the Lord your God for the good land he has given you.

coin

2 thoughts on “Satisfied

Leave a Reply

